Two FHN Seniors Announced Part of Top 100 Missouri Scholars


Credit to Anna Hollinger

Award winners Emma Rohrbach and Jay Scott stand between principals Katie Greer and Nathanael Hostetler.

By Ashlynn Perez, Web Editor-in-Chief

This morning, Mar. 15, seniors Jay Scott and Emma Rohrbach were named recipients of the Missouri Scholar 100 Program. This award is given on an academic basis, putting them in the top 100 students in the state out of thousands.

“I’m really proud that two of the top 100 scholars in the state are coming from North,” head principal Nathanael Hostetler said. “That means we really are doing some good work. I’m so proud of what these kids have been able to accomplish.”

Scott and Rohrbach will be invited to attend a virtual congratulatory luncheon with the other 98 awarded students from all across Missouri. 

“It’s really cool,” Scott said. “I know some of the kids who have gotten the award in the past, and it’s really cool to be able to be in the same group as them.”

As their high school careers come to a close and they begin to look toward life after high school, both students consider this a great honor. 

“It’s really exciting,” Rohrbach said. “It’s nice to know that all the work I’ve done will get recognition. It’s neat. It’s an honor.”